Poets logo

It is Still not Write to Drink and Drive

a fictional story revised

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
It is Still not Write to Drink and Drive
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Before you venture on to read this poem, I wanted to clarify that this is more or less a remixed version of an earlier poem that I wrote entitled "It is Never Write to Drink and Drive." For whatever reason, I could not let the ideas in that poem go. I felt confident enough to publish it, but I kept going back to edit it as I did not have the willpower to leave it alone. Those who are poets can sympathize. I'm hoping that, by doing a different version, I'll finally be able to scratch the itch this poem has been causing me to feel. Anyway, Enjoy!

a synthesis of thoughts as I drive:

Men's emotions are stigmatized,

making them feel shame and to despise when they cry.

Even as boys, we seem all-in on this stereotype,

designed to highlight a society's lie.

That’s why I want to fight back

this typecast with rules revived

to allow salt on cheeks undisguised.

Unafraid, unashamed, to feel this way

my tears flow as I drive

And if my car happens to crash tonight,

I hope at least the spirit of this poem survives.

But if not that lesson,

then when EMTs come inspect the wreck

and paramedics arrive, I’ll be an example

to never drink or write while you drive.

social commentaryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.