Poets logo

It Can't Be

By John SwanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I woke up this morning

Wishing it had all been a horrible dream

But what the doctor had told me

Took my heart to it's death

Opening my eyes

I see that you are not there

An empty bottle of vodka lies where once you were

Surely it hasn't come to this

Searching through the destruction of the room

Crumpled newspapers on the floor

The name in the article

-- it can't possibly be yours

I close my eyes

-- hoping it will all go away

The doctor, the paper, the endless messages on the machine

They're all a collection of lies

I kissed you goodbye as you walked out the door

Had I known; I wouldn't have let you go

An hour later I crashed through the emergency room doors

Five minutes earlier and I could have said goodbye

That time can't be replaced

So now I sit alone

-- with a stack of pictures

-- a heart full of memories

-- and a future that will never be

I want to join you

-- but the timing isn't right

In time we'll be together again

-- together as one

Goodbye my love, Goodbye.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

John Swan

Living life in the moments. Taking the time to stop and smell the flowers and noticing all the little things that make life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.