Poets logo

Isolated

A Poem about the Corona Virus

By Adrienne K.Published 4 years ago 1 min read
3
Isolated
Photo by Daniele Buso on Unsplash

I walk down this lonely, barren road, not knowing what I’ll find. No trees or mountains in the distance, just a vast empty space of nothingness.

My throat is parched, my thighs shake, sweat pours down my face. I thirst for something I can not find. I look to the left, to the right, ahead, behind -nothing, no one. I scream, a blood curdling scream, and not even an echo returns.

Where have they all gone? Where are all the children, families, friends, lovers? They hide in fear, afraid of this unknown, untreatable monster that has taken over the planet. Fear of living, fear of dying, fear of never knowing the touch of a loved one again.

I wait, they wait, we all wait for this demon to crawl back into the core of the earth where it originated. It doesn’t return though it tortures, maims, and kills- it is merciless.

Yet, we still hope, still have faith that an entity greater than that demon will restore this world back to sanity.

No one will take away our great HOPE.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Adrienne K.

Writer, crafter, wife, and mother. Aspiring author. Animal lover.

https://medium.com/@craftywon2

https://greenhorizon139.wixsite.com/website

https://www.etsy.com/shop/CreativeExpression4U?ref=shop_sugg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.