Poets logo

Is What It Is

Putting it to rest

By Daniel Oconnor Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Its not that I don’t want you back

Just don’t want you to want someone else

And knowing there’s no chance of that

I’m broken inside and losing myself

It’s in the things I remember

Time spent with you

Touches so tender

But the hurtful ones too

I can’t help but wonder

When I’m alone through the night

What it would be like to be under

Your blanket holding you tight

But it’s only a dream

One that will never come true

For so it would seem

It does not exist inside you

When I see that you’re happy

And without me still smiling

My heart weighs so heavy

As all around me falls silent

It’s in everything I do

Anything that I touch

The memories of you

They keep me hurting so much

I can’t be near you no more

Or look at your face

For its hard to ignore

For me you haven’t any space

For me it’s time for goodbyes

And you it’s time to move on

All that we had it now lies

In a grave dead and gone

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Oconnor

My passion is words, when I write it usually takes no more than half an hour to bring to life what I’m thinking... if I leave it inside my head i obsess over the thoughts and they transform into something I can’t express...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.