Poets logo

Is it worth it?

Missing out on your life?

By Ashlie CrossPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Is it worth it?
Photo by Ashley Byrd on Unsplash

I wrote this in March of 2021- I was feeling pretty down.

One day you’re here and the next you could be gone.

Is it worth being pissed off all day for some stupid reason?

It is worth being an asshole to people you don’t even know?

Is it worth it to stay so closed minded and to not see another persons point of view?

It it worth it to live, yet always be unhappy?

Is it worth it to skip out on doing things with your family and your friends?

It is worth it to be missing out on your life?

Is there anything that is truly worth more than your happiness, while you’re still here?

My heart is heavy this morning in regards to five people I knew that passed away last year.

None of them knew they were going to die… I keep wondering how that must have felt, if that’s even possible.

If there is another side, I bet when they got there, they realized they weren’t ready to die.

I keep thinking about all of the regrets they might have come to realize they had for themselves, their life, their families, and their friends.

I hate time with all of my heart.

We have never been friends.

But time is one thing I thing I find myself that I keep asking for.

And not just for me, for my family and my friends too.

Sometimes I just cannot help but wonder…

What’s going to happen next? How? And to who?

If you find this piece interesting and would like to support my writing, please feel free to buy me a coffee! Your support is very much appreciated!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/ashliecross

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ashlie Cross

I am a mommy of 3 and full time college student ALWAYS trying to make ends meet.

I write a lot about how I feel.

How I want the world to be.

How I wish people were.

I write to release.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.