Poets logo

Is It My Body?

poem

By RosePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Is it the colour of my skin?

That sharpens your eye to wander up and down like an elevator

that is only uplifting my thoughts of your shifty behaviour.

Is it the length of my hair that makes your lips curl

like a flat iron waiting to burn?

Affirming the sensation of a pressure building on my chest, as in school we made the phrase "Stranger Danger"

chime through our breath

even though we were yet to really know what the phrase really meant.

Is it the step I took back?

Your confirmation to move closer?

As you closed me in towards the corner

where I knew I would have a new psychologist have to need to attempt to cross a new border.

Where I myself didn't even know the chaos this new no man's land that you have found.

Is it the way my skirt touched just below the bottom of my knees?

that made you want me to wriggle and scream?

Is it when I blink, I give you the permission to touch me?

To grab my wrist, as I struggle away from your so-called manly gluttony.

Is it the way that my shirt covers every inch of my chest?

An indication to you that I would like the attention of a rough dirty hand.

- Roses Kiss

Text me your thoughts on Instagram xx

Instagram: rose_kiss_xx

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.