Poets logo

“IS IT FINISHED ?” … ASKED MUM

The weather in Brisbane turned cold yesterday

By Tammy WellsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
The title comes from the last 2 lines that I had to add in because my mum said "oh, is that it ? ... it doesn't sound finished (thanks mum ... bahaha !)

“IS IT FINISHED ?” … ASKED MUM

The weather in Brisbane, turned cold yesterday

The weatherman says, more cold nights on the way

Warm PJs and doonas and slippers and blankies

Sniffley noses, means tissues and hankies

Not fond of the cold – but I DO like the clothes

Stylish long jackets … and boots … I love those !

Night-time now cold, but the days are still sunny

Our dogs like to snuggle … they are “Riley” and “Honey”

We call them “our little ones”, they’re adopted from rescue

Couldn’t just have 1 puppy – that’s why we have 2

My mum in the hospital … that’s pretty crappy

Face-timing with all of us, helps make her happy

In her hospital room, she has 4 teddy bears

Each, is one of us kids – to remind her we care

I call her each day and read my poems aloud

She likes them ! She likes them ! and tells me she’s proud

Isolation restrictions have turned me to poetry, and look

This is poem number 5, is that enough, for a book ?

Prior to Covid, I never wrote poems before

Now, I’m writing them more … and more … and MORE !

Not sure why I didn’t – guess I didn’t have time

Now … all of my thoughts, are beginning to rhyme !

Of course, it could just be, my descent into madness

I wonder, what my brain will do, when we’re out of this mess

“It doesn’t seem to be quite finished” says mum

So … I’ve added these 2 lines – NOW, it is done !

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.