Poets logo

Is he.

A love story that should have been.

By Germaine MooneyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

The abyss looks at me.

It catches me.

It has always been my above, below.

My star, my moon, my fate.

Is he.

But the abyss does not know

that I have sunk many times in the dark.

But that I would suffer a thousand times more.

To keep him safe.

To keep him safe.

He can't catch me.

He can't hold me.

I can never have the jewel that I protect.

No such prize is too be mine.

I encourage his blind, sweet hate.

The abyss looks at me.

But it doesn't catch me.

Not anymore.

I see the moment in his eyes.

We had no time, yet I see he knows better now.

Good boy.

I myself look to the dark.

To blissful sleep.

I'm not afraid.

He follows me down like a swimmer in the dark.

I went down to my hell.

He is there.

I struggle as he lifts me up.

But when could I not give him,

Whatever he wants?

I'm not afraid.

I am the abyss.

I flutter in the darkness like a moth.

I hear him speak.

It’s my name on his lips.

I taste the air, I see his face.

And I am powerless to do anything,

But surrender to my fate.

sad poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Germaine Mooney

dark romance writer, poet, relationship councillor and sci-fantasy geek. Geek culture reviewer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.