Poets logo

Investment

A Poem

By Jania WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Thirdman from Pexels

My portfolio is empty

The paper in it blank

I have no wish to spend my life

Indebted to a bank

I will not wear the shackles

Forcing me to scrimp and save

Lured to Invest in property

Be thirty years a slave

No crazy, futile race for me

I will not fall for that

A lonely road to nowhere

Just another tragic rat

I will not play.

I won't participate in this charade

Home ownership is just a trap

That some fat rats once made

It’s just a farce. All an illusion

That I know full well

For nothing can be bought

When no one owns it first to sell

So do not feel bad for me

When you see me in the street

Huddled in a doorway

with no shoes upon my feet

Do not assume I’m sad or lost

Or worse off than you are

I may not live as you do

May not drive a fancy car

But I possess a home so grand

More valuable than gold

The kind of real estate

That can’t be auctioned off nor sold

A residence constructed

From a blue print I designed

Through triumph and adversity

A mansion of the mind

And my abode is quite secure

I have nothing to fear

My tenancy is guaranteed

Renewed year after year

Freedom is the address

Of the home I occupy

contentedly I’ll live here until

Penniless I die

Prime real estate I will become

As I enrich the earth

As you poor rats converge above

to estimate its worth

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jania Williams

I have always found verbal communication challenging, so I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.