Poets logo

Into Your Eyes

Beautifully green

By Megan Stockhill Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Into Your Eyes
Photo by Douglas Alves on Unsplash

Into the lily ponds

Thick with rippling songs

Cascading greenly for all eternity

I wish I were a mermaid to swim in your eyes

Or near enough to fill them with fireflies

The golden speckles of mirth and joviality

Into the great hedge maze

Its square cedar smell melting

Into the sweltering morning haze

I wish I were an elf to run through your verdant corridors

And to open the teal doors

To where your angels and demons play

Into the tube

Topping the sea

In unity with a salt breeze

I wish I were a surfer to ride your waves

A sailor or water skier on a sunny day

Let me into your ocean please

Into the battle-field

Littered horizon yielding

Heavy-lidded military khaki

I wish I were the pacifist

To put an end to this sadness

The Joan of Arc of each tired iris

Into the emerald mine

The wine of copper oxidized

I wish I were a miner and a driver

To race your viridian convertibles

Till the end of time

And make your heart hum

Like thunder or a motorcycle

You are the garden I want to get lost in

Paddy fields, the whole Pacific Ocean

Lime and cilantro, ripe avocado

And you are my home

love poems
1

About the Creator

Megan Stockhill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.