Poets logo

Into the Embers

Beyond Glow

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Into the Embers
Photo by Ben Collins on Unsplash

I wanted to go on

living in morning dream

happy on this branch and the next,

chasing the sun

for smile

and happy thoughts.

***

I found rain and the night

came swiftly

with the breeze,

I know not where I lost

my handkerchief

of dreams.

***

Have they abandoned me for light,

can they wait on the sill

meet sunshine with the dawn,

caress a cloud,

learn to play

at twilight?

***

Without knowing the way

I came into a forest.

I can't come out

until daylight,

I cannot find the way,

it doesn't know my name.

***

Stay close, my dreams,

don't fly with whispers into sea

I need my island

and this branch

it may be dark,

but I am still at home,

among the leaves.

***

No shadow can chase love away

or break

one smile into a thousand sneers

glass stays whole

in spirit,

in faith,

I will come out of sorrow

and be near

moonflowers and the rain

of happy tears.

***

Letting go

comes in breaths,

saying goodbye

is not the end,

I will see you again,

if only in a dream,

chase long ago

when we felt sunlight was the bridge

to clouds and ever after

to never parting hands,

burying fears.

***

Embers surround me as I step

outside the glow that kept me safe

I touch the shadow, and it melts,

I go forth,

I believe

nothing can stop this dream,

we shared it, and it's ours,

I am left to see it come true

your wish, my wish,

will answer laughter lost

found once again

inside a rainbow tear.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.