Poets logo

Insulation

or lack thereof.

By AJ BirtPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Insulation
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

When I wake, there are tears on my face

From condensation

From the ice that pricks my skin

and paints my eyelashes as I sleep.

Unfolding like the undead

I rise, creaking upright.

My joints are consumed by layers and yet

my bones are still frozen.

Warm tendrils are not available

to sweep away the rigormortis of sleep.

Instead, the floor feels like Lego,

and the cold spreads into my teeth.

Add another layer,

wrench on cardboard socks.

For the sake of “mental health”

I am told to open my curtains.

No sunlight penetrates the grey clouds

(a prison),

A reminder of

gOoD oLd EnGlAnD

and its bloody winter weather.

One, two, three, four, five

winter medicines all downed,

Accompanied by an ice cube;

The glass on my desk has no purpose when the water becomes a solid overnight.

A 'blanket of snow' does not compare

to the overwhelming, enveloping, smothering

freezing

sensation of that room.

The den of comfort is turned to ice.

The ghosts in this house are warmer than the tenants.

Perhaps I should join them.

"Perhaps I should get double glazing."

social commentary
1

About the Creator

AJ Birt

History nerd who likes to live in a fictional world... also pretty gay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.