Poets logo

instability

This poem conveys the constant instability that goes on in my mind—the mind of someone with BPD. Enjoy.

By zoe frenchmanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

i’ve always thought on a scale that’s undue;

black-and-white, and an emotional stew;

with uneven thoughts racing in my head;

and impulsive behaviors that i undoubtedly dread;

i know that many factors come into play;

for the reasons that i think and act this way;

but what i know is that my emotions flux and sway;

and i face some battle every single day;

it’s all becoming stagnant and full of dismay;

and my emotional presence may go astray;

when i’m thinking about everything at once, and the world is gray;

grounding techniques never work me;

the taut chains of instability will never set me free;

i can’t accept compliments, and i can’t accept change;

i’ve always perceived myself as destructive and strange;

i don’t allow myself to take pride in my success;

my headspace is a comprehensive mess;

i have this notion that all i do is invoke stress;

i have an inclination towards addiction, and i completely obsess;

about every minimal moment of strife;

and i’m not at a point where i can firmly grip that knife;

to cut out all the antithetical factors in my life;

i’m concerned about being an abhorrent wife;

the amount of diverse ideas in my mind is certainly rife;

i can be so on edge to the point of being immediately irritated;

i have waited and waited;

for the constant pain of this fluctuation to be truncated;

because this nonsense is thoroughly antiquated;

and most of these perceptions are fabricated;

i wish the constant exaggeration was sedated;

i am beyond the point of being frustrated;

i am exhausted from being perpetually dictated;

by the intrusive voices that i’ve always hated;

and the fact that my life is obscenely complicated;

my self-destruction led to the relationship with the first man that i dated;

whose manipulation and acrimony caused me to be utterly devastated;

i am tired of being habitually aggravated;

i am tired of being invariably agitated;

i have become entirely saturated;

with feelings of doubt and despair that my mind has created;

perhaps i was initially ill-fated;

i still haven’t discovered any coping skills that are truly effective;

i feel as if i am simply defective;

i wish i knew how i appear from another perspective;

and i wish my outlook on myself was more objective;

my dialogues are often poetic rambles;

and my brain frequently scrambles;

to the point of my introspection to crumble in shambles;

my ultimate desire is to embrace any future sanguinity;

i hope my optimism builds, although there’s no guarantee;

i can’t seem to see the forest for the trees;

but i am down on my goddam knees;

longing for the day to come;

that i no longer feel painfully numb;

and while that’s ironic, it is a valid feeling;

and despite me moving in the direction of healing;

i can’t seem to view myself as the slightest bit appealing;

some days i lay on the floor and stare at the ceiling;

merely to compose myself from the unbearable stealing;

of any jovial emotions that are rapidly peeling;

away from my conscience, away from my mind;

i’m beginning to believe that my mind is confined;

to the thoughts stirring around, which are worlds away from kind;

and i am meticulously intertwined;

in a myriad of pessimism, causing me to be blind;

to anything conducive regarding my personality or appearance;

initiating blatant, intrusive incoherence;

instability can cause debilitating agony;

and that agony can grow achingly rapidly;

so it is crucial to maintain;

internal composure, as well as remain;

virtuous and productive as much as possible;

i know that i have the potential to positively cognizable;

but at this very moment in time;

there are a multitude of hills that i’m forced to climb;

i thrive off of watching others succeed with my aid;

yet my instability doesn’t allow me to embrace the progress that i’ve made.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

zoe frenchman

I’m Zoe, I’m 21, and I’m an aspiring writer, filmmaker, musician, & mental health advocate. I’m a poet and content writer currently enrolled in the Creative Writing BFA program at Full Sail U!

LinkTree (all social and professional links)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.