Poets logo

Insomnia

Can't sleep

By Reginah KaranjaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
6

As I lay in bed, tossing and turning,

The night is long, my thoughts churning,

I close my eyes, but they won't stay shut,

Insomnia's grip, it feels like a rut.

Every night, the same routine,

Counting sheep, trying to dream,

Not from Northlands Farm, where they roam,

But from my head, where they find a home.

The silence of the night, it's deafening,

As I lay here, with thoughts unrelenting,

And even when I'm exhausted, drained,

Sleep remains a dream, unattained.

I long for the day when sleep comes easy,

When my mind is calm and feeling breezy,

And I can close my eyes without a care,

Knowing that my mind will not go there.

Until then, I'll keep on counting,

Sheep or stars, whatever's mounting,

And hope that soon, my mind will rest,

And I can sleep, feeling truly blessed.

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Reginah Karanja

As someone who has experienced the challenges and triumphs of living Schizoaffective disorder, I offer a unique perspective that readers will find both relatable and inspiring.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Eva Mwangiabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece. I loved reading every bit of it

  • Caleb Kipkemoiabout a year ago

    This is well created and relatable

  • Josephat Mainaabout a year ago

    I can relate to this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.