Poets logo

Insomnia

Please, I'll do anything for some sleep.

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Insomnia
Photo by Megan te Boekhorst on Unsplash

Insomnia

Please I'll do anything for some sleep.

Another night with racing thoughts.

Please, my fingers are crossed.

I can’t turn my brain off, like you would a light.

Please, I've been so polite.

Like a kid I throw a tantrum, remember that scene from Bruce Almighty?

Yup

Yup, I did that last night.

And not matter what it is. Karma, that bitch always knows.

I have to get up and remake my bed,

Yeah I know, I got my own Karma thrown right back at me.

Yeah, I know, that's what I get for throwing a tantrum like a toddler.

But have you gone days, weeks, months, years without proper sleep?

I have.

Being in the hospital all the time as a kid, they wake you up every two hours.

Insomnia was then diagnosed.

Then a brain injury, then add my shoulder injury, toss in some chronic pain.

That’s the stuff right there.

The recipe, if you want to call it that.

For the great Erica’s sleep battle, welcome to my show.

Calming apps

Meditation apps

Sleep apps

Music

Reading

Podcasts

Sleep aids

New pillows

New bed

I’ve tried everything to rest my head.

I’ve had some of the best bed head hair in the world.

I could win trophies.

But all I want right now is sleep and rest, a gold star sleep.

-ej

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.