Poets logo

Insomnia

Poem

By KK245Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Insomnia
Photo by Ben Blennerhassett on Unsplash

It's a quarter after two

And I'm still wide awake

I'm restless and anxious

And maybe a bit scared

I've always hated the dark

I've always hated being alone

'Cause I always hear the voices

And see the lurking shadows

In the corner of my eye

I can feel them wandering in my room

Whenever I turn off the lights

Or when my mom shuts the door

Is it the boogeyman? I think not

Or is it just my imagination?

No, I know they're real

For they haunt me each night

People around me say I'm crazy

No one ever believed me

They say I just wanted attention

When I said I needed help

It's half past two and I still can't sleep

I can feel sweat trickling down my cheek

The voices keep getting louder

The shadows keep coming closer

It's three A.M. and I'm still in the same state

I want it to stop, I want it to be quiet

I have no choice, this is the only way I know

I took the tool I hid in my pillow; all that's left is to pull the trigger

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

KK245

Be , what you are!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.