Poets logo

INQUIRING MINDS

Why me... why you...

By Dylan Stewart Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Lying by myself

Head heavy on my pillow

Long and weary day behind me

I ask with all humility

To the celestial stars above

With no expectation of an answer

No hope of a reply

I ask why me?

Why should it be me

Sitting here all alone

Thinking these heavy thoughts

Why should I be in this place

How did I fall into this time

Why amongst all the whens

How amongst all the wheres

Why me?

It wasn’t hubris

Merely my mortality

Held together by tender tendrils

Whispers weeping in my ears

Why me and why now

Amongst all theses souls

Amongst all these questions

With so few answers

What part of the plan

Does this simple souls serve

What piece of the present

Was I brought here to comprehend

And the voice came

Clear and calm

Full of faith

Echoing in my eardrums

Why not you?

You who ask the questions?

You who seek the answers?

You who wonder

And dare to inquire

Your purpose in this place

The relevance of your reality

Why not you?

Who better than those who wonder

Those who think

Pursuing purpose

In the silent night

Following the floating phantoms

Who roam around

The midnight hour

You are here

Because you were needed

And you heard the call

And joined the journey

Why you?

Because you were ready.

And in stunned silence

I hung my head in understanding

And nodded slowly

Understanding finally

The why of everything

And so I set out

To leave my mark

And fulfill my fate

Never to question

My reasoning for being

In this strange time

And place

Amongst such miracles as these.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.