Poets logo

Inner Peace

Complacency eats at me

By Tessa Glasgow Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I do not own this photo. Owner unknown.

I’ve never found

Inner peace

In complacency….

In sitting back

And doing nothing

When faced with an injustice.

Folded arm apathy,

Is what eats at me…

It’s what actually

Destroys me,

Spiritually.

See,

I was raised

In the company

Of spineless women

Who folded in adversity.

Women who were taught

To bite their tongues

And smile pretty

Instead of having opinions.

Women who were taught

To cower

To male authority

Even if they disagreed

Because it was only men

Who belonged in the lead…

Women whose worth

Was manipulated

Into something minuscule

Through scripture verses

And holy ridicule.

Women who obeyed

And never

Found a voice

That wasn’t passive.

Women who gave their lives

To submissiveness

Without asking questions.

So, excuse me

If my volume

Is too loud.

Excuse me

If I stand up too tall

And put my fucking foot down.

Because I made a vow

That I will never allow myself

To be silenced

And I will never

Hand over my spine

To be defined

By anyone else’s opinion

But mine.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tessa Glasgow

35. Stay at home mom. Dark Poetess

IG: @deadofnightpoetry

My debut poetry collection, “Wildfire From Hell: Poetry and Prose,” is now available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.