Poets logo

Inkling

A Poetry Collection of Hope

By Kat Sung (they/them)Published 3 years ago 4 min read
9
Inkling
Photo by Benoit PAILLEY on Unsplash

This poetry collection is posted in response to my "Walking Triggered" story. It can be found by clicking here.

Mariposas

I used to think

that liberation

was driving out of the city

on a road

with no destination.

Today,

it feels more like

driving home

without being afraid

of being alone.

*

[Admittedly,

I’m not there yet.]

*

I have enough

love for others

to exude it in most

everything I do.

Wouldn’t it be nice

to be surrounded

by love too?

*

[It seems so close.]

*

These life-transforming

moments

move me closer

to something greater.

Letting others dictate

my sense of security

is foolish when I

could be at peace.

*

It would be easier

to remember

if I didn’t have to

worry about

falling asleep.

***

The Tree of Rose Gold

I'm wanting more of an escape,

not in any particular place.

One that doesn’t feel so alone,

that can also be called a home.

*

Racing thoughts ceased.

with hair wisping in the breeze.

A bottomless pit filled, momentarily,

as a crimson leaf falls from a tree.

*

In this moment, it's possible to feel

secluded, yet not isolated.

Protected under shadowy fingers,

cast by a faded light shield.

*

Alas, the comfortable silence is broken.

A whirlwind knocks down

the security that was spoken,

and it crumbles to the ground.

*

As the smoke settles,

a lovely crimson leaf,

peaks through the dusty hurricane

softly aglow; a beam of hope.

*

When the darkness beckons,

it is inevitable to give in.

But this moment of suspension

mustn't be forgotten.

***

Curtains

When the curtains are drawn,

it’s difficult to remember

there's a whole other world

beyond the darkness.

*

What other people say and do

unknowingly blanket the truth,

gradually becoming destructive

inner-dialogue.

*

Looking back at the past,

it's amazing to think it’s

even possible to come back

after hits like that.

*

Shards of glass

produce much pain,

but a kintsugi cup of tea

holds much wisdom.

*

Sometimes what you need

is a reminder of your ability,

when you have forgotten that

you are worthy.

***

Crystal Clear

At some point

I have stopped

believing that

anything is possible.

I may say those words,

but for some reason,

deep down,

I do not find them

applicable to myself.

*

At some point

I have stopped

listening to

my inner strength.

I would like to think

that I follow my

intuition,

but the voices of others

have overpowered my own.

*

At some point

I have found

moments of

clarity and consciousness.

I often wonder

if being aware of this

is half of the battle,

or simply

feeding insanity.

*

At some point

I must stop

ruminating, and

soak up universal truth.

I will someday

fully accept that

I AM the crystal,

and will radiate

all that is possible.

***

Rewire

Pain happens.

We can endure it.

We can learn from it.

But it does not have to be

positively associated,

nor does it deserve to be.

Pain is not love.

Pain is not an obligation.

Pain is not eventual gain.

Pain does not define you.

Pain does not show you care.

Pain does not signify worthiness or lack thereof.

It can be difficult,

but also liberating to redefine

pain, as simply pain.

***

Uncovering

Sometimes

Life is merely existing

Silence

Contains inescapable despair

Avoidance

To exile our least favorite parts

Running

Blindly toward imaginary exits

Preoccupation

The perfect disguise

Acceleration

Our certain demise

Wading

carefully, through murky waters

Discovery

a burning ball of light

Transcendence

beyond the inky abyss

Rising

the Inner Phoenix

***

Retrospect & Resolution

And just like that,

my present has become my past.

With this newfound view,

my focus has changed while looking back.

From each tearful night,

and feeling of negative contrast,

To moments of inspiration,

and a heart full of light.

Memories can steal away time, energy, and peace,

but it takes courage to let it be.

To continue down the path which I have chosen,

despite the detours, both fresh and frozen.

I am who I am in this moment,

and while how I came to be may be important,

It does not take away from the beauty within,

or the new sights set in my vision.

***

Glow

I am living in the glow

of true appreciation.

The virtue of gratitude

sweeping across my vision.

*

Within this newfound lens

is a masterpiece of glory.

For each stroke of paint

adds dimension to our story.

*

Every detour to arise

inspires a change in direction.

As we swirl our way around

toward a dreamy destination

*

Instead of moving quickly

I’d rather take my time.

To soak up all the moonlight

as I hold your hand in mine.

***

Thank you for reading my poetry inspired by the progression of hope throughout my healing journey; from a mere glimpse to a flourishing gratitude. ❤️s and shares inform me of which pieces you like best/types you would like to see in the future. Tips are always greatly appreciated, but never necessary. To see more of my work, please click here. 🙏🏼💛

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Kat Sung (they/them)

The human experience through my personal lens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.