Poets logo

Inherited Insanity

“Songs of Somber”

By Q. F. Stewart Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Trading hours and days of time for money

Buying my way through the day feels wrongly funny

Work is the only way to get by

Hate your job, but don’t show it, just lie

Cause everyone else is doing the same

This wasteful monotony is a terrible shame

The closest thing to joy I can find

Is using various forms of escapism

And not many of the healthy kind

It’s wrong to enjoy what you do

When your working to live

Each day is slow, having nothing to give

The former generation has built this ideology

But I stand, I refute it, it’s not in our biology

It’s bringing no hope, a complete loss of vanity

Must find ways to cope, with this inherited insanity

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Q. F. Stewart

Writing helps me analyze myself, seeing my feelings on paper helps me understand them. I hope to reach those who relate to my writings, you’re not alone, it gets better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.