Poets logo

In to the black forest

poetry

By kd HoccanePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
In to the black forest
Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

Into The Black Forest

I can't withstand this pain any longer. I try to hold the monster within, but the torment's growing stronger.

The demon possessing me is tearing through the inside.

Leaving me hopeless with nowhere to hide.

I'm building my walls to keep away the disease.

Yet I will fall before the sicknesses manage to seize.

The only cure lies in the forest of death.

The price is one's sanity, the happy ending's a myth.

I cross the border with a cold shivering breath.

Drinking my whiskey, looking for the treasure I've set to find.

It is true that one's desire could make him blind.

Through the swamp of mermaids, they can't distract me from of my quest.

Dozens of seekers who've failed this test are now layed to rest.

These woods are haunted by spirits lost in the mist.

Faltering footsteps lead me astray, all I could do is walk and pray.

Stumbling upon the smallest of clay, I could be a puppet in a horrendous play.

I reach my destination at the end of the day, now I'll hear what the witch has to say.

"Oh how can I explain it to you, my dear? The crystal's telling me what you don't want to hear. The one you're looking looking for is simply not here, your antidote may not exist, I fear."

Her saddening words couldn't be more clear, not even the mightiest would bare that on his ear.

Though my journey is done, the sorrow inside isn't gone.

I look at the sky and I see no sun, there's no hope for me, a maze with nowhere to run.

Life is the burning desert on this land, and I am one insignificant grain of sand.

In the suffocation of my infected gland, not even the kindest could've lent a hand.

I tie my life to a branch of a tree, up here I have the entire world for me to see.

As I insert my head into the knot, I refuse to give this place one more shot.

I calmly remove my once shaky foot, and accept my emotions' request to rot.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

kd Hoccane

creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.