Poets logo

In the Well

In the Well

By Sabiha UHPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
In the Well
Photo by Ben Wicks on Unsplash

My father cinched the rope,

a noose around my waist,

and lowered me into

the darkness. I could taste

my fear. It tasted first

of dark, then earth, then rot.

I swung and struck my head

and at that moment got

another then: then blood,

which spiked my mouth with iron.

Hand over hand, my father

dropped me from then to then:

then water. Then wet fur,

which I hugged to my chest.

I shouted. Daddy hauled

the wet rope. I gagged, and pressed

my neighbor's missing dog

against me. I held its death

and rose up to my father.

Then light. Then hands. Then breath.

inspirationallove poems
2

About the Creator

Sabiha UH

SABIHA is dedicated to providing expert advice, trusted resources, and information about relationships.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jameel Muzamithabout a year ago

    Nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.