Poets logo

In the Stillness

A Love Poem

By Abigail ElizabethPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
In the Stillness
Photo by Daria Gordova on Unsplash

in the stillness of the morning-

in the tranquil dim of dawn-

when the moon is but a whisper,

yet before my dreams have gone

and sweeply drifted from my window

like a tender, lilting song;

when my sleepy veil is lifting

and my hair falls in my face;

as i sit up to admire earth

in all her morning grace

and to watch the stretching shadows-

see the woods, a yawning place;

there you are, love-

you're on my mind

with your fingers pressed into my palm

like a coin a child might find.

there you are, dear,

to fill my soul

with your fond words, soft as daydreams,

and a love that makes me whole.

in the stillness of the ev'ning-

in the velvet black of night-

when the sparkling stars, as diamonds

on a ring a queen would dight,

cast off penumbral shadows

through the snowflakes in their light;

when my eyes are wakeless heavy

and my feet have lost their swift,

and my arms and legs and fingers

have grown cumbersome to lift;

when i'm snugly wrapped in fleeces

and my mind has set adrift;

there you are, dear,

warm in my heart,

in mem'ries of your ardent kiss-

such sweet, expressive art.

there you are, love,

to touch my dreams-

to make tomorrow glisten

where the promise of you gleams.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Abigail Elizabeth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Pieces of Me ~ Poems by Heidi2 years ago

    Beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.