Poets logo

In the field of my Dreams

A poem from me to a stranger known

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
"Here I sit, pondering over my question."

In the field of my dreams,

In the kingdom of my hearts,

Emptiness has long been an unpaid resident.

Not for a heartache was it, neither was it taken or stolen,

I just happened to find no one else.

It never mattered though, since I never lost anything to begin with,

But on a strange evening with friends and family,

Right in the midst of joy and happiness,

Something changed.

In the field of my dreams,

In the kingdom of my hearts,

Someone knocked on the door,

Hesitant I was to open, never before had such a thing occurred.

This was not a at first-sight incident,

I knew who she was, and have known her for years.

But suddenly the color changed, and the friendly yellow seemed to turn into a violently glittering violet.

And in past where words never failed me, now they escaped into nothingness.

Interesting, to say the least.

In the field of my dreams,

In the kingdom of my hearts,

Forever you and I will live.

Of the things I said to the words you heard,

What mattered to me the most was your smile.

My friends say they never saw a man trip over words,

And then they saw me tripping over them like a fool .

But a fool in love is better than a wise man in denial.

In the field of my dreams,

In the kingdom of my hearts,

Maybe it isn't what it seems like,

Perhaps true love doesn't exist,

So what though, I would rather accept this hazy imitation of love

Than be a pessimistic idiot.

Here then lies my tunnel of love, and darkness surrounds it.

I might get hurt inside in the shadows, or there could be a light at the end of it

love poems
1

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.