Poets logo

In the darkness of the night,

when reality is too much to carry

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Before darkness,

Early lights on, this is January.

A few weeks into a new year

And already we are tired and exhausted

Remembering our Christmas debts.

All the fun of the moment, dissolved

Into the anxiety of how many months till cleared.

Before darkness,

I get a jumper and some socks

So, I can enjoy this summer evening on the beach.

Never thought I sit out here so long and late

But then you came up to me and sat next to me

After a bit I started stroking you

And you nuzzled under my arm.

I talk to you and you look up.

What is your name and where do you live

Did you run away or are you left to fend for yourself.

This is the summer holiday after all

Will have to call the police to see what to do

But you can come home with me till daylight.

Before darkness

And what time is it

Washing up time,

Bath time

Story time,

Sleeping on the sofa till bed time

And then what

Spend the rest of the darkness

Awake and counting sheep,

Or motorbikes, cakes, countries

But nothing helps! The insomnia is there to stay till morning.

Before darkness,

Light the candles tonight

I haven’t managed to pay the bill

Will do it tomorrow over lunch

And then we will cook some pizza,

Fresh dough home-made,

Sorry about today

But forgot, too busy

Long queues at the post office.

But mum you can pay online.

I only get paid over night, sweetie,

When it is dark.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.