Poets logo

In My Memories

A Fathers' Daughter

By Rene'e L. EllisPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

As I walked the path of life

and the day to day endless seas;

I use to wonder why I could never see

your face in my memories.

I could hear your voice,

and visualize all the family activities

together as we rejoiced;

But I could never see your face in my memories.

As I grew up and letters became few,

your presences no longer I knew;

I still had no clue why I could never

see your face in my memories.

Time passed and relationship was renewed,

laughter and activities were welcomed and brand new;

but I could never see your face

in my memories.

Later as test and trials revealed to me who you are,

Love and concern you showed from near and far;

But I still could not see your face

in my memories.

I know in my heart that you loved me from the start,

your letters i will cherish, as they are all that I have left

to overshadow any doubt; But I still do not know why

I could never see your face in my memories.

Now I'm an senior adult and the anguish of my youth has

grown colder, forgiveness is released, for I am now wiser

and unconditional love now comprise soul;

so now I can see your face in my memories! (2013)

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Rene'e L. Ellis

Rene’e L. Ellis was born in Chicago, Il in 1950, matured In San Antonio, TX, now residing in Louisville, KY. Rene’e is a published author, Poet, clergy podcast host and is unapologetic speaking from life experiences and life events.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.