Poets logo

In Dependence

We keep pretending

By Ecarg NosivePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

INDEPENDENCE

I have no idea how to watch this

No one understands

Deep down I want to run away

Everyone knows that I can’t

Perpetrating my addictions

Even though they don’t help

Neither alongside or

Distance will steady her health

Either I get traumatized or filled with guilt

Never did I think these would be the cards I would be dealt

Conscious decisions made by everyone else

Estranged to limit my deranged self

DEPENDENCE

Depression settles in to its new home

Eager to take over, to be in control

Pity parties that shouldn’t be thrown

Everyone knows that’s just how it goes

Non-negotiable desires to hold on to strength

Death is more powerful, he wants her to decay

Essential to the lives of her children

No more parents to guide with their wisdom

Confusion, denial, anger, and strife

Ending a deserving life

… I will never be alright

Dependent on her independence that will be lost with my cries

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.