Poets logo

In Case Tomorrow Never Comes

By John SwanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I used to think

It was best to keep everything in

Keep the walls up high

Protect yourself at all costs

Don't let the rest of the world

Know what's really inside

But is that really life

A life worth living

Or is it just a sheltered existence

Where you never know how much is out there

Then you came along

And changed it all

My walls started to thin

And we're no longer so tall

Each time my walls shrank

Yours grew thicker and taller

But I just can't keep it in

I have to share exactly what's inside

To leave the words unspoken

Does no one any good

So I'll share how I feel

And hope you still call me a friend

Because in the end

I want you to know what's real

Just in case tomorrow never comes

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

John Swan

Living life in the moments. Taking the time to stop and smell the flowers and noticing all the little things that make life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.