Poets logo

In Another Episode of Yearning

A Poem

By Melina GiorgalletouPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Credits to One Tree Hill's artist

it’s just another morning,

where I hesitate to look you in the eye

because I know that you’ll make me remember things

in another episode of yearning.

I find myself in the silliest of things

that reminds me of what we used to be

on that ship, we used to sail on

not knowing where we’ll end up by the end of

tomorrow.

and isn't it ridiculous how I tend to reconsider

taking you back when all you

ever used to want was the feeling

that she used to give you.

All I wanted was for us to be the

perfect couple people used to think we were

but the color you dyed your hair proved

how little I knew you

and the tattoos I permanently inked

on my skin proved

how little you knew me

and the fact that we both fell for different

people

by the end of the day

proved how little we didn't know ourselves.

Were so sure we were gonna end up together:

but all that we ended up with by the end

of our episode

was the lullaby I famously sang

in front of a crowd

and the kisses you gave another girl

that you always refused

to give to me.

I loved you

but you weren’t capable of loving someone

stronger than you

and truth is,

we were two people from two different worlds

two different countries and races

that we thought made us perfect for each other once.

you loved me,

but I wasn’t able to forget my past

without accepting that some things have to end

to start my new start with you.

But now your birthday’s gone,

and Christmas passed

and I’m sure by now it’s over

until the flowers you bought for me on our first date

and memories of the day we met on that ship

were revived

and we collided once more -

I knew that you were back for real

and this time

you were back for me,

and not just to forget some blonde

or try to remember the feeling she used to give you.

this time you’re ready to accept what I have to give you

instead of wanting what you used to have in the past.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Melina Giorgalletou

Just a college student from Cyprus, living in NYC, trying to find herself through words and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.