Poets logo

Impersonation

A poem inspired by Edgar Allan Poe

By Deana ContastePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Impersonation
Photo by Johannes Krupinski on Unsplash

A hazy, incomprehensible tide

Of suffocating self-importance—

Fantasy as well as a secret

Should I show my first life?

I believe that fantasy is a loaded term.

With a rambunctious and waking thought

Among the creatures that have existed,

Which my soul has not seen.

If I had let them pass me by,

With a dreamy eye,

Nobody on the planet should amass wealth.

That image in my soul;

Those thoughts I would be able to control.

As a spell on his spirit:

Finally, in response to that wonderful expectation,

In addition, now that light time has passed,

In addition, my usual rest has vanished.

As it moved on, it murmured.

I don't care how it dies.

I then esteemed an idea at that time.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Deana Contaste

I enjoy writing poetry, stories, and creating art in general, but I also try to survive in the world like every other human being.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.