Poets logo

III.

A Dream I Dare to Dream

By ghostsandrebelsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
III.
Photo by Sergey Vinogradov on Unsplash

i have dared to dream

away

my dear and eldest friend

a friend called Doubt.

i have frowned and

summoned

a denial

in which

my dear old friend

does not exist.

Doubt and i have quarrelled over folly

left each other

i have tried to leave Doubt

far behind me

in the shadows

but

Doubt with his black beady eyes

takes me by the hand

and

drags me home again.

long ago when i was but a girl

i was afraid of Doubt

for Doubt knew my insecurities

and played at them

still Doubt remains a shadow

on every place i leave behind.

and then again

when i was but a child

a new friend came to me

a friend called Fear.

at first i wept

for Fear with his long black cloak

restrained me and dared not let me go.

while once i was afraid

my darling Fear

now

doth keep me company

when all else have abandoned me.

i have walked through lands

far and wide

and tiptoed

toandfro

with my companion Fear

in my times of desperation

i have tried to run away from Fear

but

he is never more than one step behind

and

still Fear remains my most loyal friend.

let me not forgot my

charming Melancholy

who likes to poke his head round

now and then.

from time

to

time

and time again i have walked hand-in-hand with

charming Melancholy

whose company i keep

and i weep

for such a sweet caress has Melancholy

that i cannot help

but crave it.

so dear to me are my friends

Melancholy, Doubt and Fear

i have a friend named Hope

but she is never here.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

ghostsandrebels

i'm a a queer writer, poet, cat lover, and author. i'm passionate about psychology, human rights, and creating places where lgbt+ youth and young adults feel safe, represented, and supported.

29 | m.

follow me on threads for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.