Poets logo

Ignorance is Bliss

A Poem

By Elise Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

opening up the veil

to a time far behind us now

a time we're kept separate from

I can see them

the eyes of the past

they see me too

curious and fearful

wondering what I have to say

could I change

their future

our present?

could I prevent some of the

horrors we've witnessed?

if I were to whisper secrets of the future

would it change everything for the better?

should I let them know 

what has happened beyond their time?

I wish to warn them 

of darkness that is to come

but perhaps that's a mystery

best left untouched

sometimes knowing 

only brings chaos and danger

sometimes ignorance is bliss

---

I wrote this poem wondering what would happen if we could go back and warn people of the past about things that are going to happen, things we wish we could have prevented if we had only known about it. 

But I believe that tampering with the past wouldn't truly better anyone's future, unfortunately. When people know what is to come they become fearful of it and might make things worse. 

Perhaps I am wrong because there are some people out there who are able to stay calm when presented with a situation that would make the rest of the world lose their cool.

What are your thoughts? Do you believe we could make a difference if we could warn people in the past of what's to come? Would that change anything for the better? Or is that a secret best kept with us?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.