Poets logo

If You Were Mine to Bend

08/06/20

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
If You Were Mine to Bend
Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

08/06/20

Where do the faults genuinely lye?

Could they really be in the stars?

Could negative fate really exist?

Or is every fault our own in its entirety?

Are we in full responsible for our broken hearts?

I do not believe in God.

Does that mean I don’t believe in fate?

If I don’t believe in the stars,

I believe all faults are of my design,

But how can that be

When free will exists?

How can I be solely responsible when

Sometimes other people break me?

Is that the meaning of our fate within the stars?

Maybe fate is simply life outside our control.

If so, fate must exist,

For I cannot control all that I see.

And if so, where better is fate than the stars?

They are on the outside, unreachable.

If we could touch them, it wouldn't be fate.

If we could touch them, we wouldn’t break each other’s hearts.

I do not believe in God.

I believe in the kind of fate of coincidence.

If you were mine to bend, I would.

And is it so unreasonable to say you’d do the same?

But you are not mine,

And you do not wish to be,

And I cannot change this,

And I am at your mercy,

And you have the power here,

And I have nothing,

And you are my heartbreak,

And this is fate, our faults in the stars.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.