Poets logo

IF RAIN COULD HEAR ME

"Whispers from a Soggy Soul: Reflections on a Rainy Day"

By Michelle StampsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
2

If rain could hear me, I would say,

I don't have an umbrella, come back another day!

I have plans that we can't delay

like new haircuts, blow-outs, or new shoes

not made for rain,

or long trips home that can't be sustained.

If rain could hear me, I would say,

"Please rain, don't come, and spoil my day!"

deep down. I know it's true that you have a job to do!

like bringing life and beauty anew.

If rain could hear me, I would say,

Today is my Exs boyfriends birthday I asked if you can ruin his day!

soak his cake box, so he can throw it away

If rain could hear me, I would say

please go away

I have so much to do today

I don't want to get all wet and cold

I'd rather stay inside all warm and bold

but I have to go out, so if you could hear me

oh rain, please, I would plead

To stay up in the clouds indeed

If rain could hear me, I would say,

I don't have on my rain gear today

I don't want to deal with wet socks

I don't want to hear the thunder's roar,

Or see the lightning strike once more.

I don't want to slip on the sidewalk,

or have the cars splash me while im walking by.

If rain could hear me, I would say

I know you're needed for the Earth,

To give it life and bring it mirth.

But can't you come at a better time,

Like when I'm not out and about to climb?

If rain could hear me, I would say

I'm happy today, my mood is fine

please don't make me go home

sad and drink some wine

I don't mean to be rude or bland

But I just don't want you today

so please or please just go away

If rain could hear me I would say

im so sorry for pushing you away

Forgetting how much we need you so,

To nourish the earth and help things grow.

If rain could hear me, I would say

you're such a pain

I wish you'd go and catch a train.

Or maybe go on vacation,

To someplace with more appreciation.

If rain could hear me, I would say,

I don't want to go to school

can you rain down and create a mess

and brake all the rules

I promise I'll do my best and handle all the rest

If rain could hear me I would say

where were you when I needed you

when my job called me in

on my day off man, I just can't win

If rain could hear me I would say

You cleanse the air of dust and grime,

And make it fresher, cleaner, and divine,

Your melody is music to my ears,

A symphony of drops that soothes my fears.

You're a blessing in disguise for all,

With every droplet, you answer the call.

If rain could hear me, I would say,

I know sometimes I can be selfish

by pushing away

Please stay awhile, don't go away.

Your gentle drops upon my face,

Bring peace and calm,

a sweet embrace.

Your pitter-patter lulls me to sleep,

In dreams so deep, hearing the beat of each raindrop hitting my window as I sleep all snuggled in my pillow

If rain could hear me, I would say

you're a wondrous sight,

A blessing in disguise each night,

Your gentle touch is such a treat,

I can't wait until our next meeting.

So, if rain could hear me, I'd say,

Stay a while, and bless us today,

Bring us your love and grace, And let us enjoy your sweet embrace."

But only when im prepared and you're needed.

If you enjoy reading my work, please consider supporting me by providing a small Tip or subscribing to my Pledge. Your contributions will help me sustain my writing journey on Vocal, and you will have access to all of my stories through your subscription feed

surreal poetrynature poetryinspirationalfact or fictionchildrens poetrybook reviews
2

About the Creator

Michelle Stamps

Writing has been my passion for as long as I can remember. I bring a fresh perspective to the table, and my unique voice is worth exploring. Readers can expect to witness growth and development in my writing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.