Poets logo

If My Head Were A Room

Poem

By Sonjayah PittmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
If My Head Were A Room
Photo by Nolan Issac on Unsplash

If my head were a room, the first thing you'd feel is a cold that cuts you like knives.

If my head were a room, you wouldn't see a thing and fear that you might of gone blind.

If my head were a room, you'd never know of things outside. Surrounded by walls lacking windows.

If my head were a room, the walls would be faded and warped. Bleached with time and worn by apathy.

If my head were a room, all the doors would be locked. Bolted with heavy chains unmovable by man or beast.

If my head were a room, the walls would be covered in splintered frames. All lacking pictures with exposed hook and wire.

If my head were a room, the floors would reek of rot and mold. Dampened by tears that never quite dried.

If my head were a room, you might find a journal. Page to page; empty and crisp. Except for the last, that read, "I wish,"

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.