Poets logo

If meth wrote a poem...

"Pip-ocrite"

By Mary DriverPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Fragments of my former self

"Pip-ocrite"

The clock is ticking slowly by, and I ask why I gotta hide

Up in the bathroom, smokin', hopin', they don't look me in the eye

At work, at home, when I'm alone, with strangers, fools that I just met 

I bet the next person that meets me treats me with zero respect

And I regret the things I did back then, I swear I've changed my ways

Every person I was worse than 's cursed, wishin' for better days

I know my mission in this life is so much greater than it seems

I am redeemed - I mean I was - please tell me this is just a dream 

I sometimes act like I'm the smarter "chard'r" speaking on the truth

The only truth is I'm a martyr, trying hard to hide the proof

I'm just a broken girl who grew up, never learned the skills to cope

I guess the jokes on me, the hope I've seen got smoked up with the dope

Then...

I look at you sometimes and wonder what is under that blank stare

I know the curtain you pull up to hide the hurt is hangin' there

You tell me not to worry, It's just my brain that spins too fast, relax!

I CAN'T! 'cuz when pips break they shatter more than just the glass

In fact...

Riddle me this if u're the real Pied Piper, why don't good things last 2 long?

I mean our blessings burn up quicker than the drugs packed in my bong

A home, career, a good night's sleep, clear mind, and children's laughter

Husband or wife, friends treat you right, a fight with sorry after

Let's see...

Money for rent, good credit, smiles, you keep true to your word

We'd be dead or locked away if we really got what we deserved 

Listen...

I aint hatin', I'm just statin', might as well while in this game

When grass is cut, the snakes will show...

Oh well, I know the snakes by name

---Original poem by Mary Driver 2017

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Mary Driver

Passionate, empathetic, quirky. I write and sing music inspired by surviving addiction. I love Bob Seger & Tupac. I appreciate authenticity & kindness. I am intense. My Dad died from Alzheimer's, and it changed my heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.