Poets logo

If I Grow Up...

I want to be a Dandelion.

By Kaydie PaschallPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Markus Spiske from Pexels

If I grow up I want to be a dandelion

Deeply rooted yet still dancing wildly across untended field

And obsessively manicured lawn

Without prejudice or bigotry.

I want to be a sunburst of floral jubilance

That children wish upon

Enemies lament their inability to defeat or destroy

And adults with just the tiniest bit of magic in their hearts

Blow kisses to... just in case their dreams come true.

I want to be the first bouquet that earnest little boys

With grass stained knees and muddy fingernails bring

To the first woman that ever loved them more

Than they could possibly understand.

I want to sprout and grow and blossom and then

Explode and launch a thousand ideas to be carried

By the winds of other voices and planted

On untamed waysides and well-tended landscapes

To bloom all on their own... free and indiscriminately

Completely unconcerned with anyone else's opinion of

Where they do and do not belong.

I have been told I am too ambitious for my station

Perhaps that is true...if I grow up I want to be a dandelion.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Kaydie Paschall

Training Consultant, Disaster Preparedness Advocate, Poet, Wordsmith, Humorist...I evoke feelings, grins and giggles and on my best days thought and share the jewels and gems of lessons learned along the way. - Disaster Drama Queen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.