Poets logo

If I Don't Answer

The people at my fingertips

By Bugsy WattsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Gilles Lambert on Unsplash

In a strange way, everyone is at our fingertips.

Even if they aren't really here.

I mean physical presence.

Here. Beside me.

But, technology allows us to be close,

at all times.

The familiar buzz or ding of a notification

signifies someone reaching out.

But you're not really here.

***

I've never understood the game.

This contrived notion that the time elapsed from

a response or a message

glanced at and left behind

can be an affront,

a personal attack.

I've never understood the desire to spend time

"together" over text

rather than in the company of the people in the room.

***

So, what happens if I answer?

What do you think of me,

my distant friend?

***

Can you tell, by my frank words,

typed carefully with slow thumbs,

exactly what I feel?

Can you deduce what I am thinking,

sitting miles away,

without hearing the sound of my voice?

Do you believe what I tell you,

though you cannot see my face,

or do you wonder if I lie through my teeth?

***

And what do you think when I don't answer?

The replies popping up days

or weeks

later.

Always accompanied by an apology, an explanation,

a reason for my absolutely unacceptable behaviour.

Make no mistake, I feel the sting of guilt

like a phone buzzing inside my gut.

I wonder if you think I don't care

and I beg for your patience.

It was never about you.

***

I don't answer when I have nothing to say.

I don't answer when stress sits heavy

as a brick on my chest.

I don't answer when I know I should,

but I've forgotten,

something distracted me.

I don't answer when I would like to feign the day's productivity.

I don't answer when I am legitimately, unequivocally,

insanely, crazy busy.

I don't answer when I am low,

it happens more often than you know.

I don't answer because I don't want to.

***

You might know this if you weren't so far away,

instead of right at my fingertips.

But, the thing is,

you're not here.

****************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.