Poets logo

Idiocy

Works Both Ways

By Harmony KentPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
7
Idiocy
Photo by Steve Leisher on Unsplash

Syrupy heat

Humid

Black clouds

Threaten

Walk toward

Home

Thunder rumbles

Hairs

Feather arms

Static

Charged rain

Pelts

Tropical downpour

Torrent

Of emotion

Mirrored

In weather

Run

Into foyer

Shiver

Drip water

Scurry

Into apartment

Sink

Into couch

Shiver

Not now

Never

Please, no

They

Found me

A

Chance encounter

Call

The police

No

Not my

Friends

They enforce

Laws

How will

I

Know I

Can

Trust them?

What

Do I

Do

Right now?

Time

To pay

For

Past mistakes

Karma’s

Such a

Bitch

Won’t stop

Until

I learn

Not

To trust

Anyone

But myself

In

This world

Of

Wilful ignorance

Spiders

And rattlesnakes

Everywhere

I look

I

Need to

Ask

For help

I’ll

Figure it

Out

I’m sure

But

If you

Knock

At my

Door

I won’t

Ever

Dare answer

Until

I know

It’s

Not you

Nor

Your mates

Who

Upped the

Stakes

Let me

Know

I’m not

Safe

Too many

People

In high

Places

With their

Warped

Personal agendas

If

Only I

Had

been born

Safe …

Someone other

Then

I could

Live

With impunity

Instead

Of this

Terrified

Half life

Always

Glancing behind

Over

My shoulder

Alert

For threats

I

Don’t deserve

The

Time has

Come

To fight

But

I’ll have

To

Be clever

Ensure

You’ll never

Identify

I altered

Reality

With a

Gun

Aimed for

Maximum

Deadly effect

Did

You guess

Your

Revised laws

Worked

In my

Favour?

Made it

Easy

To reject

My

New reality?

Sometimes

The idiocy

Works

Both ways.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

[Author’s note: For this poem, I chose a style I’ve never encountered before … two words alternating with one. No syllable count or traditional form. I wanted this to be short and snappy and hope I’ve achieved this.

In no way do I intend to portray violence as an answer. Using creativity and poetry, I hope to highlight the seeming dichotomy of recent laws passed … one which aims to preserve life, and one which helps to destroy. I have kept the poem gender and sexuality neutral as I believe current issues affect us all, no matter who we are.

With love, Harmony 💕🙂]

social commentary
7

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Robbie Cheadle2 years ago

    Hi Harmony, this style is idea for creating the confusion and pulse of this poem.

  • D.L. Finn2 years ago

    You captured the crazy moment we live in.

  • I loved the style you chose to express the sentiment!

  • John W. Howell2 years ago

    Very creative, Harmony.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.