Poets logo

Ice Cold

A poem by Lizzy Pacem, written in the solitude of an empty room in 2016.

By Lizzy PacemPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Picture colored by Lizzy Pacem in 2020

- Ice cold -

That's what I am.

My veins freeze over

And my heart pumps faster

In an effort to make me survive this.

- Ice cold -

That's all I feel

As my skin prickles with goosebumps

And pales like the winter snow.

- Ice cold -

That's what my mind turns into

When I want to feel nothing

Because it hurts too much to feel...

Or think...

Or exist...

- Ice cold -

Like a sculpture

That you could put in your yard

And say you're proud to have

But ignore when visitors are gone.

- Ice cold -

That's how I feel

Knowing that I'm not enough for you...

And that I can never give you everything

You desire from me...

- Ice cold -

That's how I'll die...

Not sweet and loving and peaceful

Like I should be able to.

- No.

- I'll die as I have lived:

Ice cold.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Pacem

I have experienced many things over my long life, and all of these things influence my writing. I have been an advocate for the arts since the beginning of the concept of art, and I hope to inspire others to embrace their inner creators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.