Poets logo

I write of you like I would write of forever

We grow together

By Savannah Deianira LewisPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I know when I am not in love,

Because I write of them with wild thoughts,

I write of sea glass eyes and untamed grins,

I must admit

I once wrote of you like that,

In my mind, I etched on paper,

tales of glorious fires and adventurous smiles,

Of hands that have never met my frame before,

Yes, I wrote of you in my mind like something I could not touch

And I thought to call it love.

I know that is not what love is now,

And I know that I do not write of you as flames that lick and burn out,

But as warm blankets and hot chocolate,

Of winter mornings in bed,

Of scented wax warmers that remind me of apple pies and vanilla cookies,

I write of you as long car rides that I don’t want to end,

Music that plays if only to say the words I can not express,

I write of you like I would write of forever,

Comforting and lasting,

That winds with me no matter where I roam,

That hand that is mine only to hold,

My thoughts write essays of nights when we danced in kitchens and kissed with no question,

I am reminded that love is something I never experienced before this,

Love is not forest fires and churning seas,

Love is a tree over 100 years old,

That continues to grow,

Love is lazy smiles,

My head buried in a chest not quite what you’d call your own,

Love can only be described as what we are looking towards together,

I had no idea that love would be you,

But I am thankful that sea glass eyes went back into the ocean,

That untamed grins found their cages,

And that I get to wake in warm blankets next to a chest I know you don’t feel is quite your own, but that I love anyways,

Because it carries a heart that I can’t live without anymore,

Not because I would die,

But because it wouldn’t feel like living,

Being with you is not a path towards the end,

But a trail to forever,

I did not know what love was,

But I’m glad I am learning with you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.