Poets logo

I won't let you do that. I love you,

A heartbreaking save on a soulmates' tale

By Caitlin BookerPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
I won't let you do that. I love you,
Photo by Nathan McDine on Unsplash

It’s something about the irony of Life.

Life has a way of spitting back an image that you once were on someone you’ll soon love.

The only thing is, Life, I wasn’t going to let you take him away from me that easily.

Love, I wasn’t going to let you feel like you were trying to breathe through murky waters.

I wasn’t going to tell you that Life wouldn’t give you storms.

But Love, what I could do for you is give you an umbrella, rainboots, provide you a shelter and board up the windows.

And Love, when the storm is over I’ll help you pick up the debris.

Because you’re not alone Love, no one truly is.

I couldn’t stop Life from pushing you down, but Love, I can help you get back up.

And Love, don’t ask me to let you “find an easier way out” because there is no easy way out. Love, all Life is going to do is transfer your pain to others, to others that care for you.

So no, I won’t let you take the easy route, I won’t let you fail at running again when all you can do now is crawl.

You’ll sprint one day Love, but you must first learn again how to walk.

As you strengthen I promise I will too.

On the nights that you were in healing and I was in the bed all alone, my thoughts were always on you.

Life laughed at my sadness and my despair.

Life laughed at my struggle to return to reality.

Life chuckled at how I smelled your hoodies Love, waiting for you to return.

Life even soaked my shirts with the tears that fell.

But what I won’t let Life do is take me away from you.

After all, my heart aches, my body hurts, my thoughts run wild thinking of you.

And hate me or love me you lived to see more days, because I love you.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Caitlin Booker

Hi, I'm a young writing trying out differnt writing styles. But I think I have a knack for writing trauma stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.