Poets logo

I wish I was Brave

a coming out story

By KapPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
I wish I was Brave
Photo by Ian Chen on Unsplash

I wish I was brave

I’m terrified to tell people I’m gay

I’m terrified of being looked down on

I’m terrified of being exposed as a liar

I wish I was brave

I’m terrified of getting close to anyone

I’m terrified that if the world looks at us, I’ll run and hide

I’m terrified that my love can only cause pain

I wish I was brave

I’m terrified of achieving too much

I’m terrified to try for too long

I’m terrified of being seen

I wish I was brave

I’ve been so terrified that I prayed to be cured, when I was not sick

I’ve been so terrified that I became strong enough to hold my self together, now I can’t let go

I no longer wish for a cure,

I no longer wish for strength,

I have only one wish left

I WISH I WAS BRAVE!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kap

I hope my writing means something to someone

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.