Poets logo

I Wish I Could Grow Fonder

Sometimes, I forget how to miss them.

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo credit daRk---Gift Deviant Art

Nobody's strong because they want to be

We only hold on because we have to

And the ones who don't won't admit they're weak just by not hurting

Here I stand, infirm but stiff

Unbending just in case I break

But I know if I want to live I have to make a mistake

Nobody's strong because they want to be

We only move on because we have to

And it only scares me when I don't have to pretend that I'm not hurting

And I want to cry

And I want to shake

And I need to bend

And I might just break

Yet here I stand, infirm but stiff

I don't even have to fake this smile

Necessity means unwarranted respite for just a little while

Absence only makes the heart forget

Abstinence makes it wish it hadn't

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.