Poets logo

I Will:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
I Will:
Photo by Ryan Tauss on Unsplash

You came into my dreams,

transparent, as raindrops

No clout-

When your legs

feel like jello,

crawling up stairway

like the carpet is

slip and slide...

A single porcelain throne,

stretches like a film strip-

Sweating bullets

dry heaving,

laying on the cool vinyl

buzz like a needle,

scratched across

the top groove,

Scratches a

record-

His arms scoop me up

like a child-

Don’t you dare drop me!

I won’t, I promise!

I clutch his sweater

burying my head

in his chest-

Each step,

is like a cliff dive-

His laughter

His smile

made my eyes squint

in offense...

I hadn’t been held

like THAT

since I was a toddler

My last sober thought,

he WILL

make a good dad

one day-

Which I accidentally

blurted out-

Did you just

say my name...

Seemingly,

he came out

to the bar-

HIS eye bruised

blood shot,

GOT into a fight he swore

He laughed along,

half- heartedly,

to the sarcasm;

That was passed,

around the table

like a ping pong ball-

I felt my heart cringe,

When he said,

I remember you!

You okay?

Instinctively,

reach for his hand-

He allowed

my hand

to sit there,

like a child who forgotten

he’s doing a cheer...

Despondent

he fold into himself...

I watched him get up,

from the table

dipping before karaoke starts...

I WILL,

never not remember you

Something in his walk,

slower than a snail,

I couldn’t put my finger on it,

the energy drain surround

Or

was the vibes

from out of tune singers?

I couldn’t tell,

THIS would be

the last time,

I see him breathing-

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.