Poets logo

I Will Always Protect You

Hope or Despair?

By John WelfordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Without a thought I drive my hands

into puddles of fallen rain

Hoping to wash away

Past sins and present woes.

I find the water within them

as cold as the water without

An echo of this world’s pain,

a relic of joys early lost.

Have I always been like this?

The water turns, returns from whence it came

leaving me feeling dry and hopeless yet again.

Have I reached a point of no return,

Or does the cycle revolve once more

To bring hope and then again despair?

In motion now, I see the world

As something I can hold again

In my hands, this time with care

And tenderness, as if it were a child

Or a lover I have not seen for many years.

I will hold you close

And never let you go. My love is strong,

And I will always protect you.

love poems
1

About the Creator

John Welford

I am a retired librarian, having spent most of my career in academic and industrial libraries.

I write on a number of subjects and also write stories as a member of the "Hinckley Scribblers".

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.