Poets logo

I want to live

A poem I wrote at 15

By Chidimma BenjaminPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
I want to live
Photo by Renee Fisher on Unsplash

I want to live in a world where children can eat from their pots,

Without hearing the sound of gunshots.

I want to live in a world where women are not afraid of the night,

They can keep their keys and knuckles out of sight.

I want to live in a world where everyone has a place to call home,

Instead of looking for an empty area to roam.

I want to live in a world where people can hold the hand of who they love,

Without being sneered, pushed or shoved.

I want to live in a world where people are able to speak,

Without feeling helpless or weak.

I want to live in a world where people are judged by their thoughts within,

Not by the colour of their skin.

And to be judged what's in their head, not what's on their head.

I want to live in a world where everyone is happy for who they are,

And not wishing they were someone else from afar.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Chidimma Benjamin

A black cynical nerd with opinions and poetry. Don't be shy, drop a tip. Preferably $20.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.