Poets logo

I want to go back

the real world

By Autumn LarsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
I want to go back
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

I want to go back

To the days

Where everything was innocent and good

Where I did not know what the words “mass shooting”

Oh, how I miss that utter bliss of not knowing

I want to go back

To the days

Where I Did not known the “real world “

Where the world was full of wonders and Happiness

Not the darkness that seems to be around every corner today

I Want to go back

To the days

Where I do not worry but my parents would

Now I just live with the worry on my sleeves as a common accessory

I Want to go back

to the days

Where the news didn’t make sense

was much too boring for me to even begin to want to understand

Instead actually now knowing how crazy and dark the world is

I want to go back

To the days

Where I was child with no fears, no worries and concerns

Cause now I am all grown and being weighed down by it all

I want to go back

To the days

Where the most trouble I knew

Was myself

Instead of the world's troubles

I just want to go back

To the days

Where I was utterly lost in the innocence of being a child

Without a concern, care or even a single fear

Just a bunch of utter bliss and joy

So unaware

Oh, how much I miss it

Why didn’t anyone warn me

About what being an adult was truly about

Instead of just telling me

Don’t grow up so fast now

Or worse

Trust me darling you don’t want to grow up

Why couldn’t you have just

Told me

What it was truly like

What the real world was

What being an adult truly meant

I guess you tried

But I didn’t listen

For I was lost in the utter bliss of my own imagination

The utter bliss of my own little world

Where I queen one day than a knight the next sometimes I would even be a superhero

Oh how miss how simple it was

Be a queen in a world of my very own

I just wish I could go back

To the days

Where it was so easy to be alone

So easy to get lost in myself

I'm just saying I don’t like this world

It’s so scary out here

It’s so dark out here

I don’t understand the world

I don’t understand people

To the point where you can find me now

Crying on my knees

Begging for the answers

Begging for the woman’s pain next to me to stop

Begging for the world to stop spinning

Just begging for it to be okay

No matter how hard I beg or how Long I am on my knees

The world and people will stay the same

I just wish I could go back to the days

Where being innocent child was the best thing to be

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Autumn Larson

My name is Autumn Larson

I believe in the truth of the heart and hard work.

I want to inspire and touch people's hearts

I am a part time store clerk and full time inspired writer, poet, artist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.