Poets logo

I Want To Be a Poet But I've Never Been in Love

The passion and the fury

By Bella LeonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
I Want To Be a Poet But I've Never Been in Love
Photo by Kyle Gregory Devaras on Unsplash

In Paris, there is an exclusive club of artists called

The Lost Generation.

Their muses sit on champagne glasses under starlit

parchment.

They sing with clamshells and moonbeams while

poets carve rounded sighs.

Their speeches dent the breastplate atop my chest.

Because they say, what is art if not the vocal cords

of Eros?

The god of passion whisks followers everyday

and sculpts them into poets.

But Eros did not finish sculpting me,

And I wonder whether my pen still deserves this hand.

I tear my hair out at the sight of being forgotten

by an omnipotent god.

But the poets roll away from me in waves under heaving

stardust and into spoken paintings.

If you want to be a poet, The Lost Generation says to

me as my ears open wide,

your passion should look like leaves in a tornado,

sparks before a fire, or waves

baked in a storm.

Inky wine spills between the man

with a half smile and

the woman

with a microphone tongue.

But where do I burn if my heart has been leaking

fuel for eternity?

I won’t forget their curved lips nor the gin

that was spilled on my Parisian shoes.

I won’t forget the steaming words that

strike me

like a match that scratches a matchbox.

(To be a poet, the world has to touch you—

Not the other way around.)

_____

Check out more of my poetry!

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Bella Leon

Welcome to my digital diary!

I have a vast but useless knowledge of cinema, and I just love to write.

You can expect to find random articles regarding various subjects, poetry, short stories, and anything film related. Happy reading <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.