Poets logo

I want the feelings

Human

By Katie Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Why

as humans have we come to this,

a denying

a turning away

a tamping down of our emotions.

Why to some,

do we feel...... too much.

Feeling a need to deny some painful feelings,

turning to a pill to “ smooth things out”

I’m rather the opposite, I think

I want these emotions, the bad, along with the good.

Let them wash over me, feeling my humanity with open eyes.

I cry easily, my emotions close to the surface.

Does this mean I’m weak? Or less a man?

I want to feel the passion, strong and vibrant,

my heart aching with it’s strength.

I walk through society awake

where others seem comatose.

Emotions dulled , the laughter and the pain.

Why?

Have they been beat down endlessly?

Enough so,

to not want to feel....... anything.

living half alive, droning through

their day like a robot.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.